2014 Prize Giving Ceremony


The annual Prize Giving ceremony took place on 29 November 2014. It is always a prestigious event and this year was no different.

We were privileged to have Mr and Mrs Didier Schott as our Guests of Honour. Mr Schott leads the work of KwaSizabantu in France. They certainly added an international flavour to the proceedings.

Prize Giving is undoubtedly the highlight of the school year. Learners are awarded for their excellent achievements throughout the year in all fields – academic, extra and co-curricular.
There are a number of DSS learners who have contributed to the honours ranks this year through their outstanding achievements in extra-curricular activities.
Joseph Grobler, Iliya Matveyuk and Philip Meyer achieved gold and honours for their performance in the AECOM-SAICE Bridge Building competition.

On the sports field, the DSS athletes also excelled: Ten athletes achieved Gold or Honours for their performances on the athletics field during the season. They are Luke Allen, Daniel Bosman, Ndumiso Dumakude, Liezl Green, Lisa Haux, Sehliselwe Hlongwa, Heinrich Marloth, Mfihlakalo Ngqulunga, Janek Stegen and Amy van Tonder.
Nadine Engelbrecht, Elsi and Lisa Haux achieved Gold for Cross Country. Madeli Marloth achieved Honours for Hockey.

Sportsman of the Year David Geldenhuys
Sportswoman of the Year Madeli Marloth

Academic Honours achievers in Grade 11 Iliya Matveyuk & Estelle Pretorius
Academic Honours achiever in Grade 12 Petrus Fourie

aQuellé Make a Difference Awards Iliya Matveyuk, Thubalakhe Mbeje, Frederika Mout & Nobuhle Waega

Good Fellowship Award David Geldenhuys

Congratulations to all the 2014 prize winners.