2012 Prize Giving Ceremony


The 2012 Prize Giving Ceremony which took place on 1 December, was a very happy and relaxed occasion. Our Guests of Honour were past Governing Body Chairperson, Mr Alpheus Mdlalose and his wife, Ntombenhle. The highlight of the musical items was the Male Voice Choir – composed of SGB members, teachers and Grade 7-12 boys. This was a first for DSS.

A number of outstanding achievers were awarded at the ceremony:

Expo for Young Scientists Scott Ko. Msizi Mkhize and Zamakhiwe Nyembe received Honours.
ATKV Junior & Senior Olympiad Estelle Pretorius and An-Mari Fouche achieved Gold and Honours.
National Natural, Life & Physical Sciences Olympiads Jacob Allen, Estelle Pretorius, Madeli Marloth & Msizi Mkhize achieved Gold & Honours.
SAIMECHE Technology Olympiad David Geldenhuys, David Graf & Heinrich Marloth achieved Gold and Honours
SAICE Bridge Building Competition Luke Allen, Ioan Pop and Janek Stegen achieved Gold.
SAICE-WRC Water Equilibrium Bianca Coetzee, Ntengoenhle Memela & Zamakhiwa Nyembe achieved Honours
Speech & Drama Nokhukhanya Magawaza achieved Honours
Visual Arts David Geldenhuys achieved Honours
Athletics Daniel Bosman, Ester Coetzee, Jaco Coetzee, Rita Joosten, Heinrich Marloth & Philip Meyer achieved Gold
Athletics Benjamin Hlongwane, Gabriel Maphanga, Lizwilenkosi Maziya, S’khanyi Ngubane, Gabriel van Eeden achieved Honours

Sportswoman of the Year S’khanyi Ngubane
Sportsman of the Year Gabriel Maphanga
Senior Dux Anna Basson
aQuelle Make a Difference Award Onkarabile Moeti
Good Fellowship Anja Joosten & Lidia Meyer