2017 Prize Giving Ceremony


Our annual Prize Giving Ceremony took place on 2 December in the KwaSizabantu Auditorium.

The guests were welcomed in warm DSS fashion by the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Michael Ngubane, after which the Junior School sang two beautiful songs. In her address, the principal, Dorothy Newlands, spoke about Courage. This characteristic is necessary in all spheres of life but especially in the lives of the school leavers, who were advised to have the courage to say YES and the courage to say NO. The whole school, together with an instrumental and brass ensemble, sang The Battle Hymn of the Republic.

Our Guests of Honour were Mr and Mrs Viljoen. Mr Viljoen is the Chairman of SA Christian Schools Sport Association. In his inspiring speech, he encouraged the audience to get to know the ‘source’ of the water of life – the Lord Jesus Christ Himself. To have a real, true relationship with Him. Mrs Viljoen presented the awards after the High School choir sang Ndikhokhele Bawo.

Learners who achieved Silver and Gold Merits, Full Colours and Honours in sport, extra-curricular and academic activities were presented with their awards. The top achievers:

Sportswoman of the Year                                        :  Lisa Haux
Sportsman of the Year                                            :  Ndumiso Dumakude
Grade 12 Mathematics & Double Sciences Award  :  Luke Allen
aQuelle Make A Difference Award winners             :  Sabina Allen, Esther Graf, Nozuko Magqabi,
                                                                                   Philip Meyer and Lwazi Ngubane
Good Fellowship Award                                         :   Luke Allen

The ceremony was closed with announcement of the 2018 prefects and musical items from the Music Ensemble, the Brass Band.